Hack The Flab #4

Hack the flab from your writing or your readers might shout obscenities in your direction stop reading. Avoid the following 10 examples of flab:

  1. Armed gunman – Redundant Phrase. You don’t need armed. Ex: An armed gunman robbed a bank. Better: A gunman robbed a bank today.
  2. Armed gunmen – Redundant Phrase. You don’t need armed. Ex: Armed gunmen robbed a bank. Better: Gunmen robbed a bank today.
  3. As a matter of fact – Empty Phrase. Don’t use it. Ex. As a matter of fact, I did eat all the candy. Better: Yes, I ate the candy.
  4. As being – Flabby expression. You don’t need being. Ex: She is known as being the smartest in the school. Better: She is known as the smartest in the school.
  5. Ascend up – Redundant Phrase. You don’t need up. Ex: Ascend up the steps to reach the top. Better: Ascend the steps to reach the top.
  6. As far as I’m concerned – Empty Phrase. Don’t use it. Ex: As far as I’m concerned, all politicians suck. Better: All politicians suck.
  7. Ask the question – Redundant Phrase. You don’t need the question. Ex: Ask the question to your mother. Better: Ask your mother.
  8. Aspect – Vague noun. Cut or use more specific word. Ex:  Commercials are an aspect of television I don’t like. Better: I love television, but I hate commercials.
  9. Assemble together – Redundant Phrase. You don’t need together. Ex: Assemble together the parts included in the box. Better: Assemble the parts included in the box.
  10. As to whether – Flabby expression. You don’t need as to. Ex: I didn’t know as to whether he’d stay or go. Better: I didn’t know whether he’d stay or go.
3 Comments on “Hack The Flab #4”

  1. Shelly Brown says:

    Numbers 31 and 32 are what I would call redundant. Oh, that made me giggle. Come on, Shane, CUT THE FLAB! 😉

    • Shelly Brown says:

      is the difference man and men? Maybe I don’t read carefully enough. But I do like to laugh and will find any excuse I can. Thanks for the giggle. Even if it was just at myself.
      (Oh, and a genuine thanks for the list. It’s useful stuff.)

      • Shane says:

        @Shelly: Now you made me giggle. I thought about combining the two after I finished several other posts, but I didn’t feel like going back and changing each file to fill in the gap doing so would have left. 😉 Glad you like these tuts. Makes me want to post more.


Leave a Reply

